First Church Charlotte was started in 1956 by James Brock. He purchased the first church property and built the original building on Howie Circle, off Eastway Drive. In 1960, James Brock left the church and the pastorate was assumed by Roy Raymond Hall. He stayed for one year. In 1961, the church was leaderless and seeking direction. William J Padgett, a member of the congregation, became the pastor and began leading the church. In 1966, after 5 years of effort, W.J. Padgett resigned. W.W. Gilmore was elected pastor in 1966, and served for one year. William Sechrist was elected pastor in 1967 and served two years. O.G.Stanton served as pastor for one year, 1969-1970. In 1970, Johnny Garrison was elected pastor and served until 1975. He resigned to become a missionary to the nation of Nigeria.
In 1975, David T Elms became the pastor. The church had had seven pastors in nineteen years. Pastor D.T. Elms didn’t leave. He served as senior pastor until his retirement in 2008, thirty-three years of servant-leadership. During those years the congregation grew in size and strength. The church location moved from Howie Circle to Sharon-Amity Rd. A larger sanctuary was built. The church prospered.
In the fall of 1999, the youngest son of David T Elms, Nathan Elms, returned to the church after being away for twelve years of education and ministerial experience. He began serving as an associate pastor under the leadership of his father, David T Elms. In 2008, Nathan Elms was elected senior pastor of First Church Charlotte. Like his father before him, he has no plans to leave.
With God’s help, we will pursue the mission of The Great Commission in our city.